Edayar Village

                        Edayar Village
Edayar is a small village in the eastern part of Eranakulam district, Kerala in India. Most of its resident peoples are farmers. Edayar situated in Koothattukulam panchyat in Muvattupuzha Taluk. It is and 
located at a distance of 11 km from Piravom town, 5 Km from Elanji and 6 km from Koothattukulam. Neighboring Places are Koothattukulam, Kozhakombu, , Elanji, Vadakara, Erappamkuzhy, Mutholapuram and Thirumarady. Near by Cities are Kottayam (45 km) and Eranakulam (50 km). 
The Assembly constituency of edayar is Piravom and Kottayar is the Parliament Constituency. Most of the people are engaged with agriculture field for their livelihood, viz Paddy, Rubber, Pineapple and Coconut. The etimology of the name Edayar belong to ‘Eda’ and ‘Aar’. ‘Eda’ means Middle and ‘Aar’ means River. When we pass through Edayar, we can see a small rive in the middle of Edayar. Government of India’s a big Public company MPI (Meat Products of India ) situated in Edayar. In Edayar there is two schools: 

The religion of Edayar is Hindus and Christians (Jacobite Syrian Christians). Two temples situated in Edayar as well as a Jacobite church also. Morover the other institutions are MPI, Rubber Marketing Society (State Co-operative Rubber Marketing Federation Limited.), Post office, SNDP temple, St. Mary’s Jacobite Syrian Church, Kerala Co-operative Milk Marketing Federation (KCMMF), Public Library and Ephans Club. The major political parties in this village are Congress and CPM. 

The small places under Edayar is: 

  • Kaniyalipadi, 

  • Pallipadi, 

  • Kattupadom, 

  • Manalpuram, 

  • Karikunnu, 

  • Peedikapadi, 

  • Uzhalakadu, 

  • Kollanpadi 

The transportaion of Edayar is: 

  • Nearest Transport bus stand is located in Koothattukulam (5 Km) 

  • Nearest Railway line is at Velloore Station (Piravom Road) 

  • Nearest airport is at Nedumbasheri Airport 

  • Aji Kuttan Puliyanikattil Edayar
  • Sibin Parambakattu Edayar
  • Arun Abraham Edayar
  • Bijoy Baby Edayar
  • Boby Parambakattu Edayar
  • Boby Neernnamalayil Edayar
  • Sharon Edayar